Update- New States Added to the Restricted Travel List

With the effective date July 1, 2021, unless noted otherwise, Florida, Montana, West Virginia, Arkansas, and North Dakota have been added to Assembly Bill 1887, the law restricting the funding or sponsoring of state business travel to states with discriminatory laws.

The current list of restricted states are as follows:

  1. Alabama
  2. Arkansas (as of July 29, 2021)
  3. Florida
  4. Idaho
  5. Iowa
  6. Kansas
  7. Kentucky
  8. Mississippi
  9. Montana
  10. North Carolina
  11. North Dakota (as of July 29,2021)
  12. Oklahoma
  13. South Carolina
  14. South Dakota
  15. Tennessee
  16. Texas
  17. West Virginia (as of July 8, 2021)

As of January 1, 2017, the CSU Travel Policy and Procedures has been revised to comply with Assembly Bill 1887, which added Section 11139.8 to the Government Code relating to discrimination and was approved by the governor in September, 2016. As a result of this law, it has been determined that SJSU is restricted from requiring employees to travel to certain states, and is prohibited from approving funding or sponsoring travel to those states with laws enacted to void or repeal discrimination protections, or, to authorize or require discrimination.

Exceptions to the prohibitions that may be granted, and of note to SJSU, include the following (see SJSU Travel Guide for the complete list):

  • To meet contractual obligations incurred before January 1, 2017.
  • To participate in meetings or training required by a grant or required to maintain grant funding.
  • For the protection of public health, welfare, or safety, as determined by the CSU or other state agencies.
  • The list of affected states is maintained on the California State Attorney General website, State of California Department of Justice. Travelers and approvers are advised to check the website when planning or approving out-of-state travel. Auxiliary funds may be used for travel to restricted states.

SJSU Travel Guide
CSU Travel Procedures
Assembly Bill 1887
Office of the Attorney General

Travel Restrictions from Chancellor’s Office to be Lifted as of 6/1/2021 – SJSU Issues Modification of Travel Restrictions

SJSU continues the SJSU ADAPT plan and our four-phase approach for the continuation of campus operations.  Currently the campus is in ‘Phase 3: Hybrid Campus’ with education in the form of a hybrid learning modalities.  Recently the CSU Chancellor’s Office announced that travel restrictions issued previously would be lifted as of 6/1/2021 and that campuses would continue to evaluate travel based upon guidance from Centers for Disease Control (CDC).   An additional resource is available at the  California Department of Public Health (CDPH)CDC continues to recommend delaying travel until fully vaccinated and to continue to choose safer travel options.  Most systemwide meetings will continue to be held virtually.

  • Domestic Travel is discouraged for non-essential travel as travel continues to exacerbate the spread of this virus.  
  • International Travel is reviewed on a case by case basis based upon the program location or travel destination. 

CSU policy requires that we consider the health and safety of students and employees when making plans for traveling. In all cases, travelers must adhere to the latest travel guidance from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the California Department of Public Health(CDPH).  Additionally, when returning to California, travelers are required to follow the guidelines of the CDPH and CDC as their recommendations are updated regularly.

As of June 1, 2021:

  • Domestic authorization to travel will be approved by the department approving official with consideration of the travel guidance from CDC and CDPH.  The google form “Adapted Travel Process for Presidential Approval” is no longer required for Domestic Travel.  Please remember SJSU has a list of States in the US where Travel is banned based on AB 1887.1
  • International travel requires approval by the President and cannot be sub delegated per CSU policy.  The established process for a Travel Authorization is conducted through FTS, and will automatically be routed to the President for approval.  Remember there is a list of countries currently considered high-risk, consult the CSURMA High Hazardous Country List and also review each country’s current COVID-19 risk.2  
  • RSCA-related travel is approved by Mohamed Abousalem, VP Research & Innovation.

Reminder:  Departments who have tracked and maintained their employees travel vouchers should utilize them before they expire.  For additional information see the FinanceConnect Blog Message dated 3/10/2020 COVID-19 Travel Suspension, COVID Travel FAQs or contact the Travel Coordinator for assistance.

1 Domestic Travel – Current banned states per AB1887,

2 International High Risk Countries

2021 Mileage Reimbursement Rate

The CSU adjusted its mileage reimbursement rates to reflect the new IRS rates. The mileage rate changes are as follows and apply to business travel occurring on or after January 1, 2021:

  • The standard mileage rate decreased from 57.5 cents per mile to 56 cents per mile.
  • Miles driven for moving purposes will be reimbursed at 16 cents per mile, decreased from 17 cents per mile.

The FTS Travel module reflects the standard mileage rate appropriate to the date(s) the mileage was incurred. If you have any questions, please contact FinanceConnect at ext. 4-1558 or financeconnect@sjsu.edu.

COVID-19 Travel Updates

Refer to the following links for announcement updates regarding COVID-19 related business travel.

Adapted Travel Process for Presidential Approval – Released date 8/14/20
Extended Suspension of Business Travel and New State Added to Restricted List – Released date 7/2/20
Travel Reimbursement for Business Travel Suspended by the COVID-19 Situation – Released date 4/1/20

Please forward this message to any staff or faculty you feel should be notified.