From Professor Scott Sublett: Kudos to SJSU Screenwriting Students!

Michael Quintana, Finalist-1

Michael Quintana, 2nd Place, Feature Screenplay

Once again, SJSU Screenwriting Students Have Triumphed at the CSU Media Arts Festival

The awards were made at a ceremony last night in Los Angeles.

RTVF major Mark Hertzler won 1st Place in the Short Screenplay category. His script, “Becoming the Wild,” is a western about a religious man forced into violence. Mark wrote the script in our online RTVF 160 class.

Michael Quintana won 2nd Place in the Feature Screenplay category. His script, “Hare,” is a modern take on an Aesop fable. Michael, who recently graduated with his MFA in Creative Writing from SJSU, wrote the script in our RTVF 160 class. Last year Michael took 1st place in the same category for his script “White Rabbit,” which has been optioned by a Hollywood producer.

2015 marks the eighth year in a row that SJSU students have won first place in a CSU Media Arts Festival screenwriting category. Congratulations to our unstoppable screenwriting students!

Congratulations also to RTVF major Kourosh Ahari, who won 3rd in the Narrative cinema category for his film “Malaise,” and to Animation Illustration major Natalie Corsie, who placed 4th in Animation for “Home.”

Come See T.A. Major Carlos Jose Gonzalez in MY MAÑANA COMES

MTC_MMC_Morales_LoResCongratulations to all the team involved — and a shout-out to T.A. major Carlos Jose Gonzalez —  in director Kirsten Brandt‘s production of My Mañana Comes, a Bay Area premiere. Called “a wistful (but not sugarcoated) portrait of four rich, layered characters” by TimeOut New York, it speaks to issues of our times — and all times. Here’s a recent review:

The severity of the minimum wage crisis and rights for undocumented restaurant workers lie at the forefront of the Bay Area Premiere of Elizabeth Irwin’s My Mañana Comes at Marin Theatre Company. As a 2013-14 Playwrights Realm Writing Fellow, Ms. Irwin debuted Mañana Off-Broadway last September at the Peter Jay Sharp Theater. Though Mañana is no fairy tale, it offers a fresh take on a story about four busboys’ pursuit of the “American Dream” and a sociopolitical commentary on the solidarity of the working class. 

The play runs from October 29 – November 22. Click the following link for details.

What We Did This Summer



Spartan Films teamed with the TRFT department to produce the short film The Yellow Wallpaper. Based on the 1892 short story of the same name by Charlotte Perkins Gilman, it tells the tale of Eleanor, a young woman who struggles with postpartum depression. However, when her over-protective husband refuses to recognize her illness, he locks her in a room in their new Victorian mansion. Slowly, Eleanor loses sight of her sanity, and the patterns in the room’s yellow wallpaper begin to come to life.



“The Yellow Wallpaper” is an old story. and it has been adapted for film and stage many times. However, this film’s approach is different in that it does not over-emphasize the horror and thriller elements which sometime downplay the crucial message of female subjugation. Instead, the time period has been updated to the 1950s, not only to make it more accessible to contemporary audiences but also because that decade represented a period in which many women’s roles were also circumscribed by certain oppressive cultural norms.

The film is now in post-production.

Kaucher Mitchell Mathis-Swanson Celebrates 122nd Event

KMMS_122Beverly Mathis-Swanson writes:

After a thrilling, chilling and stunning performance by Lauren Doyle, Kaucher Mitchell Mathis-Swanson finalists: Elizabeth Gibbons, Roslyn Murtha, Megan Ashley Johansen, William Gaoiran Jr., Cheyenne Ismailciuc, Jessica Jay, Jessica Osegueda, Victor Pham, Joseph Soto-Hockenberry, and Mandy Tamrocked the house! Sanchez Michaels was fabulous with his legendary performance, as Lauren Doyle gracefully lead the packed house through our 122nd. event. Congratulations to all and our winners: Roslyn Murtha andJessica Osegueda! Keep on rockin’ on, all y’ all! Cheers!

Kudos to The Bev, all her students, finalists, and winners!