Announcing the 55th Annual Staff Service Celebration and Staff Awards

55th Annual Staff Service Celebration

The 55th annual Staff Service Celebration and Staff Awards event will be held in person on Thursday, March 2, 2023 from 3–5 p.m. in the Student Union Ballroom. All employees are invited to attend to support your staff colleagues who have reached milestone years of service and those who will be honored as part of this year’s staff awards presentation.

For the fourth year, we will honor outstanding staff members in three categories: Spartan Spirit, Distinguished Service and Staff of the Year. We will also honor staff in the Critical Employee category for the first time. Today, I am delighted to announce our 2022–2023 Staff Award honorees:

Critical Employee Award
Jed Soliven – Office of the President / Institutional Affairs

Honorable Mention:
Bonnie Sugiyama – PRIDE and Gender Equity Center
Sylvia Ruiz – University Library

Spartan Spirit Award
Matthew Snyder – CommUniverCity

Honorable Mention:
Edlin Hernandez – Career Center
Khristine Lugo – Special Events

Distinguished Service
Eva Joice – Academic Senate

Honorable Mention:
Thuy-Trang Duong – College of Professional & Global Education / Professional Education
Robert Bain – University Marketing & Communications

Staff of the Year
Sharlene Washington – Biological Sciences / CLS and CGMBS Training Program

Honorable Mention:
Amy Chan – Finance Support & Innovation
Lydie Rashel – College of Engineering / Mechanical Engineering

Please join me in congratulating these outstanding colleagues on attaining this special recognition. I look forward to celebrating our colleagues’ accomplishments on Thursday, March 2, 2023.

I look forward to seeing you there!