Announcing the inaugural Campus Committee on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (CCDEI)

Dear campus community,
I am pleased to announce the members of the inaugural Campus Committee on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (CCDEI). This committee will identify equity gaps and make recommendations to address systemic historical inequities, prioritizing equity for historically marginalized groups and issues related to improving campus climate through campus engagement, review of relevant data, reports and research. Committee members also will produce an annual report with findings and recommendations for presidential review. 
The following individuals have been selected to serve as committee representatives:
Angee Ortega McGhee, Staff
Associate Resource Analyst, Lucas College and Graduate School of Business
Anne Marie Todd, Faculty
Professor, Communication Studies
Kathleen Wong(Lau), Chief Diversity Officer
Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
John Aguilar Villanueva, Non-STEM Student Representative
Graduate Student, Library and Information Science
Azariah Cole-Shephard, STEM Student Representative
5th-year Undergraduate Student, Electrical Engineering
Alani Fluker, Student-Athlete Representative
1st-year Undergraduate Student, Public Health
Kevin Gaytan, Graduate Student Representative
Graduate Student, Social Work
Anoop Kaur, Associated Students Representative
3rd-year Undergraduate Student, Biological Sciences, Concentration in Systems Physiology
Vinson Vũ, Student Success Centers Representative
2nd-year Undergraduate Student, Business Administration, Management Information Systems
Unique Williams, Greek Organization Representative
4th-year Undergraduate Student, African American Studies
Joe Fessehaye, Staff-at-Large Representative
Early Alert Coordinator, Peer Connections
Jose Macias, Athletics Representative
Athletic Academic Advisor, Student Athlete Success Services
Sharon Singh, Solidarity Network Representative
Program Coordinator, MOSAIC Cross Cultural Center
Bonnie Sugiyama, Solidarity Network Representative
Director, PRIDE Center and Gender Equity Center
Claudia Tercero, Classified Staff/Staff Counsel Representative
Administrative Assistant to the Associate Vice President, Development 
Alma Verduzco, Maintenance and Operations Representative
Facilities Worker II, Maintenance and Operations
MPP Representatives
Valerie Gonzales
Associate Director for Digital Engagement, Alumni and Community Engagement
Julie Paisant
Senior Director, Employee Relations, Retention and Equal Opportunity, University Personnel
Monica Allen, Faculty-at-Large Representative
Assistant Professor, Public Health and Recreation
Tanya Bakhru, Faculty Diversity Committee Representative
Professor, Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies/SISS
Marion Campisi, Faculty-at-Large Representative
Assistant Professor, Mathematics and Statistics
Michael Dao, Tenure-Track Faculty Representative
Assistant Professor, Kinesiology
Sharmin Khan, Lecturer Faculty Representative
Lecturer, Linguistics and Language Development
Elisha Miranda-Ramirez, Tenured Faculty Representative
Associate Professor, Film and Theatre
Alerie Flandez, Alumni of 10 or More Years
Academic Advisor, Davidson College of Engineering Student Success Center
Danny D. McLane, Alumni of 2 – 10 Years
Founder and CEO, Jamii Technology
Standing Committee Members
Magdalena Barrera, Interim Vice Provost for Faculty Success
Ravisha Mathur, Academic Senate Chair
Associate Professor, Child and Adolescent Development
Walt Jacobs, Special Assistant to the Provost on Racial Justice Initiatives
Dean, College of Social Sciences
Director of Co-Curricular Learning, Educational Equity, and Assessment (when filled)
Student Affairs Division
Patience D. Bryant, Director of Black/African American Equity
Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Jahmal Williams, Director of Advocacy for Racial Justice
Community and Government Relations
We received numerous nominations for the 32-person presidential campus standing committee of students, staff, administrators, faculty and alumni described above, which will assess issues of diversity, equity, and inclusion at SJSU. I would like to thank everyone who applied and submitted nominations for this important committee.
The work of the CCDEI will be critical in our campus efforts to address systemic equity issues crucial to the well-being of many of our historically underrepresented groups. I know I speak for the whole campus when I say that I am looking forward to seeing their recommendations.  Congratulations to the committee members and thank you for all that you do for our campus community. 
To read more about the CCDEI and its work, please visit the committee website.


Dr. Mary A. Papazian