SJSU Presidential Search

by | Apr 22, 2022 | Leadership

SJSU Presidential Seal with Tower Hall.

The California State University Board of Trustees has launched a nationwide search for the next president of San José State University.

Following CSU policy, the Chair of the CSU Trustees, Wenda Fong, appointed a Trustees Committee for the Selection of the President. The Advisory Committee is composed of representatives from the faculty, staff, students, and alumni, as well as a member of a campus advisory board, all of whom are selected by the campus’s constituency groups per their selection criteria. Also on the Advisory Committee is a vice president or academic dean from the campus, and a president of another CSU campus—both selected by the chancellor in consultation with the Board Chair. Both committees function as one unified group in the search process.

On this page:

Search Resources

Questions and Nominations

To submit your questions or nominations, please email

Open Forum

Wednesday, May 4
12:30 – 2:30 p.m.
Student Union Ballrooms

Members of the campus and surrounding communities participated in a hybrid open forum with the Trustees Committee for the Selection of the President in person and virtually via live stream. The purpose of the open forum was for the Committee to learn about the type of leader for which the SJSU campus and surrounding communities are looking. Viewers also gleaned insight on the process of the presidential search as a whole. This is the only presidential committee meeting that will be open to the public.

SJSU Presidential Search Committee

Member Name

Constituency Group

Jolene Koester CSU Interim Chancellor
Wenda Fong CSU Chair, Board of Trustees
Christopher Steinhauser CSU Trustee and Chair, Search Committee
Anna Ortiz-Morfit CSU Trustee
Yammilette Rodriguez CSU Trustee
Romey Sabalius CSU Trustee
Cathy A. Sandeen CSU East Bay, President Representative
Sheryl H. Ehrman SJSU Don Beall Dean, Davidson College of Engineering, Administration Representative
Alison L. McKee SJSU Chair, Academic Senate
Stefan Frazier SJSU Faculty Representative
Nidhi Mahendra SJSU Faculty Representative
Angee Ortega McGhee SJSU Staff/MPP Representative
Sharanya Kumar SJSU Student Representative
Khoi-Nguyen Nguyen SJSU Student Representative
Chrissy Chang SJSU Alumni Representative (President, SJSU Alumni Association Board)
Edward A. Oates SJSU Tower Board Representative (Founding Director, Tower Foundation)
Angel Rios, Jr. Community Representative (Deputy City Manager, City of San Jose)
Milan R. Balinton Community Representative (Executive Director, African American Community Service Agency)