SJSU Honors its Faculty Members

Seventy faculty members stepped into the spotlight at the 16th annual Faculty Service Recognition and Awards Luncheon, and were honored for their work at San Jose State University.

“It is an honor for me to take part in this annual event, recognizing our faculty members for their years of service to San Jose State University and acknowledging the special achievements and contributions of this year’s four faculty awardees,” said President Mohammad Qayoumi in his prepared remarks.

2014-2015 Faculty Awards

“I have devoted my career to training students in order to develop the next generation of scientists who will tackle the next generation of tough issues in human system integration.  It is very gratifying to see that the university places such high value on those activities.”

With that said, Kevin Jordan, professor of Psychology in the College of Social Sciences, accepted the President’s Scholar Award. His 30-year career at the university is impressive. He’s authored or co-authored approximately 80 academic papers and presentations, supervised some 80 master’s theses, and secured nearly $200 million in research funding.

The Student Union ballroom erupted with applause as President Qayoumi presented the Distinguished Service Award to Scott Guenter, professor of Humanities in the College of Humanities and Arts. Guenter also received an award for his 25 years of service to the university.

Outstanding Professor Anne Marie Todd of the Department of Communication Studies in the College of Social Sciences and Outstanding Lecturer Cynthia Baer of the Department of English and Comparative Literature in the College of Humanities and the Arts also received a warm reception.

Yearly Service Awards

The university gave awards to faculty members with 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40 and 50 years of service. William McCraw, professor emeritus of Political Science and a Humanities lecturer, was the only person at this year’s luncheon to receive an SJSU Tower frame for 50 years of service.  As he walked to the stage, everyone in the ballroom rose to their feet and applauded.

“I feel a lot of pride for being associated with this vibrant campus,” said McCraw.  “It seems just like yesterday that I stepped foot on campus.”

More than 350 people turned out to honor the faculty members for their inspiring work and dedication to SJSU.


One thought on “SJSU Honors its Faculty Members

  1. My warmest greetings and congratulations to Dr. William McCraw, professor emeritus of Political Science and Humanities lecturer who was honored for his work at San Jose State University and received the SJSU Tower frame for his 50 years of service at the 16th annual Faculty Service Recognition and Awards Luncheon.
    Professor William McCraw chaired in 1993-1994 my masters thesis committee in the Interdisciplinary studies program (Environmental Administration). His support and guidance, along with Dr Adnan Daoud, Dr Cobie Harris, Dr Alden Voth, Dr Marylou Lewandowski and Dr Timothy Rohm were the reason I finished researching and writing my masters thesis which was nominated upon completion for the SJSU 1994 outstanding thesis award.
    “A proposal for the establishment of the first non-governmental environmental society in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia” by Ahmed AbdAllah Al-Senany

Comments are closed.