SJSU Wins Top Animation Awards

An image from "Bloom," directed by Emily Johnstone and Brian Kistler.

By Alice Carter, Animation/Illustration Area Coordinator

Animation/Illustration students Brian Kistler and Emily Johnstone share top honors for animation at the prestigious New York Society of Illustrators Student Scholarship Competition for their short film, “Bloom.”  The second place award also went to SJSU for Yung-Han Chang’s entry, “Bye, Bye Bruce.”  Both films were produced on campus by teams of Animation/Illustration students who guided the vision of the three student directors from the initial storyboards and concept design through post-production.

Represented in the competition’s very competitive illustration category are SJSU students Jeanie Chang, Cody Gramstad, Annlyn Huang, Rudy Santos Jr., Lauren Zurcher, Alexander Sparks, Ko Tseng Wei, and 2011 graduate Melissa King. Of the 8,119 illustration submissions, only 253 were accepted for the exhibition. The student scholarship exhibition will be on view at the Museum of American Illustration in New York from May 9 through June 2. The opening reception and awards ceremony will held on May 18.