College of Business Accreditation Extended

Students exit the Boccardo Business Center at San Jose State.

Students exit the Boccardo Business Center at San Jose State.

After a thorough review and onsite visit, the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business board members voted to extend the Lucas College and Graduate School of Business’ accreditation.

“The Lucas College and Graduate School of Business is honored to earn extension of our AACSB accreditation, which is a testament to our dedicated faculty and staff, outstanding students, excellent centers and institutes, and deep engagement with our professional communities,” Interim Dean Marlene Turner said. “Earned by only 5 percent of business schools worldwide, AACSB accreditation signifies to students, employers and the wider community our commitment to creating, sustaining and continuously improving our excellent academic programs.”

Founded in 1916, AACSB International is the longest serving global accrediting body for business schools that offer undergraduate, master’s, and doctoral degrees in business and accounting.

“It takes a great deal of commitment and determination to earn and maintain AACSB Accreditation,” said Robert D. Reid, executive vice president and chief accreditation officer of AACSB International. “Business schools must not only meet specific standards of excellence, but their deans, faculty and professional staff must make a commitment to ongoing continuous improvement to ensure that the institution will continue to deliver the highest quality of education to students.”

SJSU’s Lucas College and Graduate School of Business is home to multiple centers and institutes including the Mineta Transportation Institute, the Silicon Valley Center for Entrepreneurship, High Technology Tax Institute, and the Silicon Valley Center for Operations and Technology Management, among others. The college serves more than 5,000 undergraduate and graduate students in five departments and schools.

The accreditation process was supported by the College Accreditation Steering Committee:  Carol Reade, director of Accreditation; Camille Johnson, co-director of Accreditation; Mary Calegari, faculty in accounting and former director of accreditation; Annette Nellen, faculty in tax and former director of faculty development; Malu Roldan, associate dean, Undergraduate Programs; Stephen Kwan, associate dean, Lucas Graduate School of Business; and Thalia Anagnos, AVP, Graduate and Undergraduate Programs.

Comments are closed.