SJSU in the News: Spartans Inducted Into Bay Area Radio Hall of Fame

San Jose State grad and current KCBSAM Radio sports director Hal Ramey and San Jose State radio/TV/film porfessor Mike Adams are two of the 19 inductees this year into the Bay Area Radio Hall of Fame.

Originally published by the San Francisco Chronicle Aug. 7, 2011 (page 2 of the online story).

Meet the new class: The Bay Area Radio Hall of Fame has announced 19 new inductees for its class of 2011. The 19 will be enshrined in ceremonies in mid-October, along with KFRC, which goes into the hall as a “Legendary Station” on the strength of its run as a Top 40 powerhouse, “The Big 610.”

The new Hall of Famers were voted in by public balloting. In the announcer (or host) category, winners were Rosalie Howarth, longtime KFOG DJ, and Laurie Roberts, veteran San Jose DJ and programmer now on KUFX (“KFOX”) and KPIG. Newscasters being inducted are Jan Black of KCBS and Chet Casselman of KSFO. For their work in sports, the hall will honor Ralph Barbieri, one of KNBR’s major stars, and Hal Ramey of KCBS.

KGO managers Don Curran and Russ Coughlan will be inducted in the owner/manager category, while the pioneer inductees are Sybil Herrold, DJ “Bouncin’ Bill DoubledayDon Thompson, and Francis J. McCarty. In the specialty division, KCBS traffic anchor Kim Wonderley and Dr. Dean Edell will be enshrined. And, representing engineers, Shingo Kamada of Entercom (KOIT, KUFX, Sports 95.7) is in.

In addition, the Hall of Fame chose to honor four educators who were not on the ballot. They are Mike AdamsGordon GrebDan Odum and Dr. Stuart Hyde.

This column has been edited since it appeared in print editions.

Read more: